Modern Rheumatology

Modern Rheumatology is the official journal of the Japan College of Rheumatology (JCR) and is the premier scientific journal for research in rheumatic diseases. The journal publishes original papers in English on research pertinent to rheumatology and associated areas including pathology, physiology, clinical immunology, microbiology, biochemistry, experimental animal models, pharmacology and orthopedic surgery. The editors of Modern Rheumatology aim to publish trial results that are shared worldwide, and authors from all countries are encouraged to submit papers in the following five categories: Original Articles, Review Articles, Rapid Communications and Letters to the Editors. Six issues and a supplement are published per year. It is delivered to approximately 10,000 Modern Rheumatology subscribers around the world, as well as to members of the JCR. Papers may be submitted at any time. Papers are welcomed from members of the Japan College of Rheumatology and nonmembers alike.

For further information:

Modern Rheumatology


Instruction for Authors


Certification Form


Check List


Submit online


Issues / Articles

To access Issue archives and latest articles, please visit Taylor & Francis website.

JCR member can access all MR contents for FREE through the following steps: Click “Member” button, and execute Login procedures using your ID and password.
If you are unable to view the articles for free, please do log-out processing and retry above steps.

If you would like to view ONLY “Abstract” of the articles, please click “Non-Member” (no login required).


Modern Rheumatology Supplement

Abstracts of Annual Scientific Meeting and International Rheumatology Symposium


Editorial Board

Masataka Kuwana – Tokyo *


Associate Editor
Sakae Tanaka – Tokyo *
Tatsuya Atsumi – Sapporo *


Transmitting Editor
Yu Funakubo Asanuma – Iruma
Masayoshi Harigai – Tokyo
Hitoshi Hasegawa – Matsuyama
Keiju Hiromura – Maebashi
Hideto Kameda – Tokyo *
Yutaka Kawahito – Kyoto *
Kimito Kawahata – Kawasaki
Atsushi Kawakami – Nagasaki *
Ichiro Kobayashi – Sapporo
Yuta Kochi – Tokyo
Atsushi Kumanogoh – Suita *
Ikuko Masuda – Kyoto
Isao Matsumoto – Tsukuba
Isao Matsushita – Toyama
Tsuneyo Mimori – Kyoto
Sachiko Miyake – Tokyo
Shigeki Momohara – Tokyo *
Masaaki Mori – Yokohama
Ayako Nakajima – Tsu
Keiichiro Nishida – Okayama
Yoshihiro Nishida – Nagoya
Norihiro Nishimoto – Osaka
Michiaki Takagi – Yamagata *
Hiroshi Takayanagi – Tokyo
Hirotoshi Tanaka – Tokyo
Yasuhito Tanaka – Kashihara
Yoshiya Tanaka – Kitakyushu *
Hisanori Umehara – Nagahama
Masahiro Yamamura – Okayama

* Editorial Board Committee member


International Advisory Board

Paul J Anderson – Boston
Stefano Bombardieri – Pisa
Kenneth D Brandt – Kansas
Philip L Cohen – Philadelphia
Bruce N Cronstein – New York
Chella S David – Rochester
Michael Doherty – Nottingham
Paul Emery – Leeds
Gary S Firestein – La Jolla
Steffen Gay – Zurich
Mary B Goldring – New York
Jorg J Goronzy – Stanford
Xiaohu He – Beijing
Falk Hiepe – Berlin
Raphael Hirsch – San Francisco
Rikard Holmdahl – Stockholm
Graham RV Hughes – London
Robert Inman – Toronto
David A Isenberg – London
Shozo Izui – Geneva
Joachim R Kalden – Erlangen
Lars Klareskog – Stockholm
Peter E Lipsky – Bethesda
Stefan Lohmander – Lund
Martin K Lotz – La Jolla
Ravinder N Maini – London
Prudence J Manners – Perth
Diane Mathis – Boston
Narinder K Mehra – New Delhi
Haralampos M Moutsopoulos – Athens
Jean Pierre Pelletier – Montreal
David S Pisetsky – Durham
Richard M Pope – Chicago
Westley H Reeves – Gainesville
Jacques A Sany – Montpellier
David L Scott – London
Yehuda Shoenfeld – Tel-Hashomer
Josef S Smolen – Vienna
Paul-Peter Tak – Amsterdam
Argyrios N Theofilopoulos – La Jolla
Wim B van den Berg – Nijmegen
Leo B A van de Putte – Nijmegen
Cornelia M Weyand – Stanford
Leo A Whiteside – St. Louis
David Wofsy – San Francisco
Hasan Yazici – Istanbul

Back to top